Tags

, , ,

Saturday, October 1st was a great way to start off this month.  Since I had a little bit of money saved, I decided to meet up with a group of friends and go to Archon 2011.  (pronounced ar-con)  For those of you who do not know, Archon is a comic book convention in the southern Illinois area.  It is held every year in Collinsville, Illinois at the Convention Center (next to Wild Country).  Think of Comic-Con but a lot smaller.  I had no idea a comic convention was this close to home.  But, I am still saving up to go to Comic-Con in San Diego, California!  I have relatives that live ten minutes (in driving time) away from the event!

As soon as I arrived, my group of friends and I went to their hotel room to chill and do last-minute touches on our costumes.  My best friend, Roxy, and her boyfriend, Nate, were Button Boy and his hot girlfriend.  I came as a Merlotte’s waitress and bought my Tarte for True Blood palette to do Roxy’s makeup.  After that, we walked around the convention.  There was an art gallery, a place to play games like Dungeons and Dragons, and booths set up to buy comics and novels.

My friends and I had went into a room were people could purchase merchandise like board games, corsets, even more books, mugs, shirts, hats and anything else you could find.  As many of you know, I am currently reading The Sookie Stackhouse Novels.  Before Archon, I owned the first eight books and the tenth one.  I found the ninth and eleventh books but I did not get Dead Reckoning because they only had it in hardback (and I cannot afford hardback books at this time). 🙂

Only close relatives and friends know that my mom is somewhat of a sci-fi geek.  She grew up watching the original Star Trek and Battlestar Gallactica series and watches the “updated” versions of them.  She loves Stargate SG-1 (and the spin-offs)!!!  Awhile back, our area had a bad thunderstorm and our basement flooded.  We store things down there and some of them got ruined like her Star Trek edition of Monopoly.  So while I was at the convention I was looking for the game but they did not have it.  I tried.

Later on, we went to Bandana’s Bar-B-Q, a barbecue restaurant nearby.  Their beef sandwich and green beans are so good!  Then, we came back so Roxy could get her fangs made.  Afterward, we went to the Masquerade.  The contestants displayed great creativity.  The one that stood out the most was  “Let My People Go.”  The song was from the movie The Prince of Egypt.  There was this group of people and each person had role: Pharaoh, Pharaoh’s first-born, Nefertiti, and a person to represent each plague of Egypt.

After the Masquerade, we went back into the hotel room to get ready for the dance.  After the dance,  we went to a showing of The Rocky Horror Picture Show.  The show started at midnight, so by that time some people were hammered.  I actually have this movie but I have never seen it like this.  Everyone in the room is a huge fan of this cult classic.  They know it line by line and scene by scene.  Some people even put their own commentary in it.  It did not always make sense but it was hilarious none the less.  When the movie was over, I said good-bye to my good friends and went home.  I was exhausted but I had a grand time!

(I will update this post with pictures ASAP.  I have a crappy camera and I tried to add pictures but it did not want to act right.  Time for a new one!  Anyone know of any good camera’s?)

