Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I just wanted to know how everyone’s Halloween is going this year.  Next to Christmas, Halloween is one of my favorite holidays.  Trick-or-treating is not the only thing I like about this day.  I enjoy dressing up as whatever or whoever I want.  Last year, I was the Mad Hatter.  This year, I am a Merlotte’s waitress.

Halloween 2010

Yeah, I did not have the time or money to go full throttle with clown makeup.  So, I used what I had.  Lots of green eye shadow and a mixture of red lipstick and pink eye shadow.  Also, I lined my top lash line with black eye shadow.  This was taken with my Blackberry.

In fact, in the twenty-two years that I have lived on this planet, I believe I have dressed up almost every year.  I have been a black cat, a bride, a Native American, 80’s girl, an M & M, and a Gypsy.  These are the ones that come off the top of my head.

I really enjoy the religious aspects of Halloween or All Hallows Eve because I believe that traditions should be respected.  Just about all the traditions and superstitions I learned from watching the History Channel.  Everything down to the Jack-O-Latern (Ireland) is from all over the world.

Image via Yahoo! Images

   Addition to the other traditions, watching horror movies is a great past time.  As I was growing up, the only R-rated movies I was allowed to watch, besides Soul Food, was horror movies.  I am a big fan of the classics like Bram Stoker’s Dracula (1931) with Béla Lugosi as Count Dracula and the 1992 remake with Gary Oldman.

Image via Yahoo! Images

It was not until the eighth grade when I found out the Dracula was a real person.  Vlad Dracula, or Vlad the Impaler, was a Prince of Wallachia that was known for his efforts and views against the Ottoman Empire.  In Romania, he is viewed as a hero for protecting his country.

Image via Yahoo! Images

Well, there was some history and my thoughts on this holiday.  Have a Happy Halloween!

