Tags

, , , , ,

After spending much of the weekend dealing the Flu that is going around in the area, I feel much better. It actually got to me Wednesday afternoon. Even though I really just wanted to go home and nurse myself, I had two midterms to complete and my Spring Break is this week. So I just got them over with. I was so sick that I did not go to work for the next two days and had to miss class on Thursday. Ew!

On a brighter note, Mom rented The Help. If you have not seen this film, I encourage you to see it because it is a great movie. I actually plan on adding the novel it’s based on to my reading list for the summer. The film made me have a greater appreciation for the African-Americans that came before me. They had to endure more pain and suffering but it made things easier for the later generations. The whole cast did a great job and it deserved the nominations and awards it has received. The main reasons I love the movie:

  • The film takes place in the 1960s. I love the fashion and trends from the era from the big hair to the eyeliner to the dresses.
  • It takes place during the civil rights movement-a time of change in America.
  •  Skeeter, played by Emma Stone, represents the change in women’s place in society. We all know throughout history women would take of the house and children while men were the breadwinners. Skeeter did not care what other people thought and she stood up for what was right. She was a working woman and spoke her mind.

    Image via Google

The rest of my weekend consisted of going to lunch with Mom and making a trip to Wal-Mart to get some odds and ends. While I was there, I also picked up some DVDs: Paranormal Activity 2, The Exorcist, and Drag Me to Hell. I finally got Mom to watch Paranormal Activity 2. Needless to say, she did not sleep through the night!

I love horror films!

I did not fall asleep until the wee hours of the morning because it turns out the Syfy channel was airing Drag Me to Hell. LOL! After that, Arachnophobia came on and let’s say it fueled my dislike for spiders even more.

How did your weekend go?

