Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Image cropped from original on Flickr. Origina...

Image cropped from original on Flickr. Original description is “Christina & Steve Harvey” (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So three days ago, my boyfriend and I finally got to see “Think Like a Man.” In case you have been living under a rock, the film is based on comedian and host of Family Feud, Steve Harvey’s advice book, Act Like a Lady, Think Like a Man. I am not one to give away the movie, but I will say whether you are in a relationship or not, male or female, everyone should see this movie!

The film, like the book, explains why some women are single and *cough* bitter. It also shows why some men are single as well. It really got me thinking.

Image via Internet Movie Database

Granted I am in a long-term relationship, I related to the character Mya (Meagan Good) the most. She is where most young women are in their lives-had enough with players and failed relationships. I have to agree with what she said. What is with the men of this generation? I’m not saying all men want just want to hook-up. What I am saying is some just want the “cookie.” Then, you have those that don’t want to grow up, and/or are way too attached to their moms.

The other female characters I could see in family members and friends. One in particular was Taraji P. Henson. She did a great job (as she always does) in portraying the single female that has standards that are way too high. A man does not always have to make the same salary and/or drive the same car as you. Think less external and more internal. What are the qualities that you look for in a man? What are his goals, dreams, and aspirations? What are his hobbies? Men should look the same in women.

Don’t make it easy to earn your complete trust, love, “cookie,” and respect.

A friend once told me: Picture a tree full of apples. Boys go after the first apples they see or the apples that fall off the tree because they’re easy to get. Real men climb after the ones that are higher in the tree because they are willing to work hard to get what they want.

I rank this movie 5 out 5! I can’t wait for it to come out on DVD!

